How much will I need to know to pass the CCNA exam? Also will it help my job search?

CompUBugCompUBug Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been in the IT field for about 6-7 years and have worked hands on with HP Procurve, Cisco, Fortinet Switches, ect. I don't know IOS like the back of my head no, but I know it enough to get around it. I graduated DeVry University with a Bachelores in Science and Communications management and most of our curriculum was CCNA.

Well, lately I've been really cracking down studying on this cert, about 4 - 5 hours a night or longer if I could tolerate it but the more I study the more discouraged I am becoming. This test seems pretty difficult. I took a few practice tests online and blew them.

I know the OSI model pretty well but my question is, how much of everything will I need to know?

Will I need to know what makes up a TCP or UDP header and how many bits each of its properties are?

(for example a TCP header consists of: 16 bits source port, 16 bits destination port, 32 bit sequence number, 32 bit acknowledgment number, 4 bits header length, 6 bits reserved, 6 bits code base, 16 bits window, 16 bit checksum, 16 bits, urgent, up to 32 bits options.)

What about the Network Layer Headers or Ethernet Headers? I know I will need to know what each layer of the OSI model is and what each layer is responsible for. I know the obvious as well, routing protocols, VLAN's, static routing, NATTING, Access Lists, ect ect

What about Ethernet / Fiber cables? Will I need to know the construction of each cable (UTP for example), bandwidth each cable is capable of supporting?

==========

As for my job search, I'm straddled down with over $90,000 of student loans and the highest paying job I seem to be capable of getting is only around $45k a year even with my degree.

Will I need to learn VMWare, Unix, Python, MongoDB, SQL, ect ontop of the CCNA if I want to go higher? Should I atleast beable to eclipse $80k a year?

Comments