My OSCP long journey

BlueMushroomBlueMushroom Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi folks,

I have just read the excellent post of JollyFrogs about OSCP, and it was an excellent source to get usefull links and ideas to establish my learning path.

I decided to share my preparation as it could be of benefits for some of you.

My background is mostly on the application security side, I have been doing some Linux and network stuff couple of years ago but hadn't touch it since.

I'm quite a busy guy, between work, sport, social life and girlfriend I don't have that much time, so I choose to sacrifice a bit of social life for the OSCP. My goal is to do at least 2h per day and more than 8 hours on the weekends. And because the time is counted, I want to come on the labs being fully prepared for it and to have a minimum of things to learn.

So the plan I established is the following:

- Read couple of reviews online : done.
- Read Black Hat Python and do every script: ongoing
[OPTIONAL] If I don't feel very confortable in Python, I may go through Grey Hat Python or the course Learning Python The Hard Way (I feel Python is a key to success the OSCP, otherwise you will spend too much time on repetitive tasks during the labs and the exam. And scripting is one of the lacking skills on my side so working on improving it...)
- Follow tutorials on Widnows and Linux exploitations and privilege escalations
- Get virtual machines available at www.vulnhub.com and train on it
- Check what scripts (enumeration phase once you're inside the machine but not yet root) people have done and see if I can re-use update them to fit my needs (I found already a bunch of them available)

I don't have any target such as reaching 100%, but I hope to own a maximum of machines to be at ease during the exam.

Black Hat Python