Options

COMPLETE Newbie

schaccschacc Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

This is my first time here. I am a complete newbie to this CompTIA A+ thing. Although I've been around PCs for a good while. I purchased the A+ Certification All in one exam guide fifth edition sometime last year and just finished reading through it this past summer. Took an OS Technologies course at a local college and passed that class with an "A". But I still feel somewhat uprepared to take these tests after seeing some of the sample questions.

Now I'm frustrated because I found out that the exam is changing and I have already invested all this time and money. I don't know what to do to start with. I'm confused about vouchers and signing up....can anyone who has done this give me advice on what I should do?

Thanks,
schacc

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    First, Welcome :)

Second, the time you have invested into preparing isn't a waste. You will need this information moving forward and should consider it part of the process. All exams upgrade as time progresses to meet the current trends. The good news is that the exams are usually behind the times of current technology, so you won't need the things released next week ;)

Get a copy of the objectives and prepare from those.

I don't use vouchers, but you may follow the link on the left and search for a voucher that matches the exam you will take. Vouchers may offer you a price break and/or study material to prepare for your upcoming exam.

So you may get a voucher or not.
    Sign up for your exam at Prometric or Vue websites and follow the instructions and location options there.

Not too difficult, but yes that first time can seem strange. We've all done it.
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux