CySA+ Study Chronicles

yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
So I embarked on a 14 week learning journey, with the CySA+ certification as the tangible end goal that started January 1, 2018. This post chronicles my choice of personal study resources and curriculum. It's an unproven curriculum as I haven't taken the exam yet. I do intend to score very highly on this exam though.

Why:
I've been working in information security for a bit over 2 years and have another year or so of information security related tasks experience from a job prior to that. Of the exam domain objectives, I'd say 90% of them are highly relevant to my day to day activities. I'm really amazed at how well the exam domains align with what I do at work.

As far as formal training, my degree is a generic information systems one and my formal information security training consists of the Security+ from a few years back, the eJPT, studying for the GCIH last year, and whatever I've picked up from various textbooks.

I estimate that right now I know probably 50-75% of the existing domain objectives on the CySA+ well enough to teach them. If I went into a testing center today, I might squeeze by with a pass as-is.

I don't want to squeeze by with a pass though. I have little need to obtain this cert for the piece of paper it represents from a career/resume perspective. The missing 25-50% in knowledge holes is what going after this cert is all about for me.

Initial Learning resources:
These might grow or shrink as I progress through my curriculum

Print:
The Sybex CySA+ Study guide by Mike Chapple
The material has been great so far. There are a few errors in the text and on the quiz questions. There is an errata page and I'd definitely suggest going through it with a pencil beforehand. Finding the Sybex/Wiley errata submission page is a complex adventure in patience. It's sort of here:
https://hub.wiley.com/community/support/sybex

CySA+ Certification Exam objectives