Certification vs Degree

muriloninjamuriloninja Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just found the board a few days back and thought i would sign up to learn and help out when possible.

I have noticed somethings in my time in the IT field. One person will say "Get your certs bla bla bla" and the next will say "$%@! certs" and that has always bugged me. I have a degree in Networking and currently have zero certs although i have experience and have a good job with tons of potential to move into anything i want (IT Consulting).

I have noticed some people on here have no degree, little to no experience yet have three or more certs. What is the reasoning behind this? Does this explain the "paper tigers" we all hear about?

I currently work with two Network Engineers and niether have any certs or a degree and they are in the middle of designing the new stadium for a NFL team. Bottom line is, they both have experience and know what they are doing.

So it makes me wonder, why in the hell did i go to school? Why not just gather experience? What the hell good are certs for?

Honestly i know that most idiotic employers know nothing about IT/Certification, they just know 'hey this guy is a MCSE or bla bla bla" anf they hire him. So what happens if i took a $5k boot camp over the course of a week and became a MCSE? I no doubt would get the job but when crap hits the fan, i would not have the skills to resolve the issue.

I have scraped the bottom of the IT barrel for a long time even after getting my degree and yes i heard the infamous "not enough experience". So i spent alot of time bitter about the IT field and pondered if i should even pursue it anymore. Luck has it that i slowly worked my way up from Tech Support to Help Desk to Desktop Support and i will jump to servers next.

After going through all this and gathering my experience, i now am aiming for certifications. I mean if it is what they are looking for, hell give it to them right?