Why so few CCIEs going for Wireless cert?

PaycheckPaycheck Member Posts: 16 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've been working on the certs for a few years, got one a while back. I've been thinking about which I want to do next, wireless or data center. DC is probably more useful, but I find the wireless to be interesting.

I looked on the cciehof site, and it says there's only 213 CCIE Wireless people, far less than any other cert.

I was wondering why this is? Seems that a good wireless person could be working for AT&T, Verizon, or another cellular provider, or work for Cisco in some way.

I'm sure wireless is a part of many networking jobs, but far from being the only thing in most cases.

I doubt I'd be ready for CCIE any time soon, but maybe CCNP in a year or two, I'd just like to figure out what are my most likely sources of employment as a Wireless person first.

Comments

• Burns82Burns82 Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
    A lot people probably are not interest in it to be honest. there is plenty of work out there as a wireless engineer. before you embark on the cisco wireless trek, get a copy of the cwna book by CWNP this will give you an excellent foundation about wireless much better than the Cisco material
  • JustFredJustFred Member Posts: 678 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The Cisco material for wireless can put one to sleep. :p
    [h=2]"After a time, you may find that having is not so pleasing a thing, after all, as wanting. It is not logical, but it is often true." Spock[/h]
  • FadakartelFadakartel Member Posts: 144
    other than the ones mentioned above, Cisco is not the only wireless vendor a lot of places seem to use Rukus, Aruba,ubiquiti, Fortinet etc.
  • neRForNothingneRForNothing Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□