Trying to break into CyberSec, yet no one wants to hire entry level

Shane2Shane2 Member Posts: 65 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey Guys, I have almost 7 years infrastructure support, 3 in Helpdesk, and 4 as SA. I've been trying to build my resume with certs since I don't have cybersec exp. I currently work in the DC area, and hold a Secret Clearance. I'm having a hard time finding a new position(I'm currently working, but SA is getting old real fast).

Is there a way to get actual experience working with SEIM, Firewalls, IPS, or IDS? Should I just download Security Onion and get familiar? Should I get the free "user" certs from Splunk, Palo Alto, etc.?

I'm currently studying for CISSP to make myself more marketable, and once I finish I'll probably start WGU's Cyber program. I get quite a few bits for SA work, but I'm not interested at all.

Any advice? Also, anyone know of a SOC position in the area, please let me know.

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Shane2 wrote: »
    Hey Guys, I have almost 7 years infrastructure support, 3 in Helpdesk, and 4 as SA. I've been trying to build my resume with certs since I don't have cybersec exp. I currently work in the DC area, and hold a Secret Clearance

Are you willing to relocate?/work a contract? There is ACAS/HBSS training you can take that'll make you a bit more marketable.

I was in a similar position, and I moved across the country for a role. I've read through many job descriptions and tried to learn as many tools and technologies as I could.

There is no simple answer. Keep learning, keep progressing.. and keep trying.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• SyntaxSyntax Member Posts: 61 ■■■□□□□□□□