Podcasts

bEastCoastbEastCoast Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Slow to get around to this but what is a good app for listening to podcasts? I am also wondering what are some good podcasts to listen to? Or what do you listen to? I've just grown tired of listening to the radio during the morning / afternoon commute. Curious what people listen to and if they find some value in it? I know this will boil down to personal interests, thought I'd ask though.

Comments

• NavyMooseCCNANavyMooseCCNA Member Posts: 544 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I use the app that comes with the iPhone. Since I'm studying for my CISSP, I'm listening to Kelly Handerhan's CISSP MP3s...

'My dear you are ugly, but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly' Winston Churchil

• E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • xagreusxagreus Member Posts: 112 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I've been using Podcast Addict on my Samsung. The interface isn't bad, and the ads aren't too intrusive. Plus, you can adjust the playback speed, which is very useful (I tend to listen to episodes at 1.2x the normal speed - it's more efficient, but isn't too fast to understand).

For quite a while, I just checked out audiobooks from my local library, but I've been getting back into podcasts lately. Here are a few that I've found profitable:
    -Bruce Schneier's Crypto-Gram Security Podcast - Cybersecurity - 1x/month - could be 5 min. or 45 min. long
    -The Great Books - Discussions of classic works from western civilization - about 30 min. each
    -African Literature Podcast - self-explanatory - about 20 min. each (I studied African and Latin American literature in college, so this may not interest you as much :)
    -TED Talks Daily - "thought-provoking ideas on every subject imaginable" - I find some of these inspiring, some eye-opening, and some off the mark, but "though-provoking" is certainly an accurate description