Career Advice/Insight

viney042018viney042018 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. I graduated with an Accounting degree and is a CPA but was inactive since transitioning to the IT industry 4 years ago. I started in the workforce a bit late considering I was already 24 then. Worked accounting and audit related job for 6 months and got really bored. I researched and found that the IT industry is booming so I decided to take a leap. My first IT related job was as a 1 year contractual Functional consultant for a small IT vendor of a cloud ERP software. Then after, I worked as an IT Audit associate for almost 2 years with one of the Big 4 audit firms. Then I was pirated by a publicly listed company for a security analyst position. I am mostly working on 3rd party risk mgmt where I learned a lot about technical controls and hipaa related requirements since company is in healthcare. I just celebrated my 1 year with them and so far Ive been enjoying it but I have to be honest that its difficult for me when we get into conversations that involve a lot of technical concepts as I cant fully grasp or visualize it since I lack the technical background. Im not sure if enrolling at a university for a degree in IT would help me given I am working full time but I really want to learn and I always felt insecure that I lack the IT knowledge that some of my peers at work have since most of them have an IT degree. Ive grown to love being in cybersec so much that I also want to work towards a digital forensics or cybercrime career in the future. It was a dream for me to be in the crime investigation/law enforcement industry but life got in the way which did not allow me to achieve it in the past but now I feel I can leverage my experience somehow and be able to bridge the gap between my current work background and the dream I want to have I just dont know how. So if anyone here can help me please and share your advice as to the best educational/certification and career paths for me