Benefits of these classes for a networker ?

Ungadunga911Ungadunga911 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm a student at the University of Southern MS and was wondering aside from the vast amount of liberal art courses and the 4 Cisco classes and 2 windows server classes how important are these other classes and would they benefit me.

(c++ and c++2)

(Human Computer) =Surveys the five major sub disciplines of anthropology (physical anthropology, archaeology, linguistics, social/cultural anthropology and applied anthropology) to provide the student with a holistic understanding of humanity’s social and biological diversity.

(SQL)

Project Management

(Unix)

(CGI programming)

(Computers and Society) = Ethical issues for technical professionals, social impact of professional and entrepreneurial activity, the social impact of computer technology; oral communication-intensive. Writing-intensive

(Internet Information Server) = Installation and configuration of a popular NOS as an Internet information server.

I was also wondering what type of work/ position i should be applying for given i end up finishing the BS in computer networking.
I'm a junior at the moment.

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Honestly, all of the classes you've listed have value, thus of varying importance.

Here are my questions for you:

1. Are you going to pursue certification as a CCNA after your classes are finished? If not, why not?

2. Have you had any internships or have you been working in an IT-related part-time job? If not, why not?

3. Have you joined any IT meet-ups in your area? If not, I would recommend finding one or even starting one. That will provide you with networking opportunities and show future employers that you are engaged in the IT world.

Cheers
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia