Opinions of CEH

Jay15Jay15 Registered Users Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi,

Being a security analyst, I have been looking for Infosec certifications to reflect my day-to-day role. I exchanged with some colleagues and I didnt get an expected feedback for CEH. They dont really value CEH and redirected me to GCIH (which is approximately an opposite number of CEH but with SANS). Problem is the SANS certifications are out of my budget (at least £5000 from the SANS organism and my company will make me sign an certification contract i.e. if I leave the company within two years then I have to refund a part of the expenses).

Can you please give me your honest opinion of CEH? Many jobs out there require CEH certifications.

Thanks in advance,
JAmal

Comments

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Two years doesn't sound too bad for a GCIH, particularly if it includes travel expenses. Maybe squeeze them for a second, lower cost cert/course materials in that same time period, like the CySA+.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • supasecuritybrosupasecuritybro Member Posts: 206 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Depends on what you want to accomplish, if you want recognition of certification, the CEH (they are making a push to be more hands on but will be just as expensive soon enough), GCIH is a wonderful course with a lot of hands on at the conference with a lot of value in the participation with others in your field. If you want to have get some skills and not break the bank, the eJPT from eLearnSecurity is a good path. Its not widely recognized but the cost is minimal with some good return as far as in what you learn and you get to do some actual hands on.
    Completed: CISSP, GPEN, GWAPT, CCSA R80, eJPT, CySA+, M.S. Information Security
    Current Goal: CCSE
    Continuous Education Plan:​ AWS-SAA, OSCP, CISM
    Book/CBT/Study Material:​ Max Power