Options

Experts assemble, help an entry level question regarding career advice

bolajibreezebolajibreeze Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I need your help for career advice, what does certifications with CCENT, AWS CSA, LPIC1, Linux+, soon to come Security+, and RHCSA get you, I don't think I would Iike a career in networking, and my scripting skills at the moment are just ok, and by god I am trying to stay away from help desk support jobs. I also have like a year experience as a network tech and I graduated school last June. I would honestly appreciate your recommendations because I am pretty confused at the moment. icon_redface.gif. I would appreciate your answers. My goal would eventually to be towards cloud technology or devops, but I agree that I have to work for it. Based on your experience and foresight what would you recommend? Thank you

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Certainly not an expert, but I'll chime in.
    This approach is kind of like saying, "I have a dress shirt, a suit jacket, slacks, and leather shoes. I intend to get a silk tie. What kind of company will hire me and in what kind of position, based on this outfit?"

Some companies require certain certs and others are nice to have. All of them are just extras that can highlight what you know, how you present yourself, and prior work experiences.

To answer your question, I'd spend a good amount of time browsing job ads to get a feel for what businesses are asking for and what the job role might entail. Then when you find a few job roles that catch your interest, start customizing your image in a way that makes you higher-able for that role.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • Options
    bolajibreezebolajibreeze Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□