Options

Looking at maybe IT Sec... any good place to jump in?

Wrighty11xblWrighty11xbl Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

Hope you are all well.

So, I've been an Systems Administrator for about 10 months now and I am looking to progress further in the field. Having thought about it, I like the idea of InfoSec or IT Secuirty and just wondering where to start.

Bit of background on what I do now.

I manage about 7 schools network from top to bottom. So pretty much doing anything like desktop support to network/internet firewall editing and full domain administration.

I know linux is one thing i NEED to learn, is there anything else I should do or maybe check out to assist in learning?

Thanks in adance.

Comments

• Options
    mmcabemmcabe Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi All,

Hope you are all well.

So, I've been an Systems Administrator for about 10 months now and I am looking to progress further in the field. Having thought about it, I like the idea of InfoSec or IT Secuirty and just wondering where to start.

Bit of background on what I do now.

I manage about 7 schools network from top to bottom. So pretty much doing anything like desktop support to network/internet firewall editing and full domain administration.

I know linux is one thing i NEED to learn, is there anything else I should do or maybe check out to assist in learning?

Thanks in adance.

Personally, I would concentrate on Linux first. Once you get past the basics, you can build all sorts of open-source security appliances--pretty much anything that's on the market. I suggest you work from the command line, which will teach you more about what's actually happening under the hood than a GUI.
  • Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□