PASSED the SSCP!!! Now what?

JudgemanJudgeman Member Posts: 6 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey everyone. Passed the SSCP on my first attempt! I was worried since I get the worst anxiety when taking tests. I studied for about 2 months. The only material i used was the Darryl Gibson All in One 2nd Edition book and practice tests, and a few Youtube videos. It was about the same as other people have mentioned on this forum. Tricky questions that make you rethink your life, lol. I do already have my Sec+ so that helped. I'm currently in a general IT support role and really want to be in a security position in the next year or so. This is my first IT job and I've had it for about 3 years. Looking for some advice on what I should go after next.

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    The SSCP material dovetails into the CISSP material, so passing the CISSP exam is what I would suggest next. Even if you don't yet have the 3-4 years of InfoSec experience that you need for the full CISSP cert, get the CISSP exam out of the way while you have the momentum.
  • tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What HE said! That was going to be my plan, but I got sidetracked after earning SSCP. I'm not studying CISSP and see a lot of similarities, only CISSP goes way deeper, of course.
  • averageguy72averageguy72 Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats!
    CISSP / CCSP / CCSK / CRISC / CISM / CISA / CASP / Security+ / Network+ / A+ / CEH / eNDP / AWS Certified Advanced Networking - Specialty / AWS Certified Security - Specialty / AWS Certified DevOps Engineer - Professional / AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Professional / AWS Certified SysOps Administrator - Associate / AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate / AWS Certified Developer - Associate / AWS Cloud Practitioner
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□