Passed CCNA Security 210-260 today

JD20JD20 Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everybody,

Just wanted to post my CCNA Security pass thread. I was able to pass this certification on the first attempt. I just got home from the testing center and I'm still in shock I passed. Don't get me wrong, I studied my butt off for this cert. But, with all the posts from people failing multiple times, it was difficult for me to feel confident before or even during the exam.

First, my take on the cert. 210-260 will definitely test your skills in every topic listed in the Cisco objectives. Without breaking NDA, make sure you know your NGE/Legacy protocols. Know your show commands for site-to-site VPNs and be able to decipher the output. I only got one SIM, but I did purchase an ASA 5505 (asa9.24, asdm7.82) and labbed repeatedly. Who ever says the ASA 5505 isn't enough to pass the 210-260 is wrong. I just did it. Overall, it wasn't a tricky exam. The biggest issue with this certification is the amount of information you have to learn. That's where I incorporated as many different study materials as I could fit.

Being enrolled in the WGU: Network Operations and Security program, I utilized most of the study material they provided me. I'll list the process that I used to study.

-OCG: The OCG wasn't as bad as most people make it out to be. However, I did only use it as a high-level overview of the exam topics. I took notes while I read the book.

-CBT Nuggets: I tried to watch the CBT Nuggets videos at the same time that I read about the topic in the OCG. At times it was difficult because of the fact that there is just a ton videos for the 210-260. This was one of the best resources I used. I also took notes while watching the videos. When Keith would lab, I would pause the video and lab on my ASA.