Path to achieve CISSP

calleviejacallevieja Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good Afternoon,

I have been working in IT for 16+ years doing both roles (Network Admin and System Admin), I am tired of these areas and want to get in to something new like cyber-security as a nice change from what I do now.

I have a bachelor’s degree in Management Information Systems, but I do not have any certifications.

Even though I play the role as a Network administrator, I find my strengths are more in System Administration. My networking skills are more at an intermediate level, compared to my system administration skills which I would rate as advanced level.

I would like to pursue the CISSP, but am not sure on the path I should take. At the moment after reading several articles on the net I am considering the below path:

CompTIA Network+
CompTIA Security+
SSCP
CISSP

However I am not sure whether this path is OK or not with the background I stated above.

Can you please help me with the questions below:

1. Is my certification path a good one to achieve the CISSP?

2. Should I do the Network+ certification or the CCNA? From what I have read CCNA is more on Cisco products compared to the Network+ which I hear is more of a broader scope on networking.

3. Which should be done first, Network+ or Security+?

4. I have read that before sitting the SSCP and CISSP that I must have so many years work experience in information systems security. Would I be eligible for this as I do not really understand what they mean by “information systems security”. If you can list some examples of this I could see if I qualify.

I appreciate any information that can be given to me to help me with this new career path.

Thanks and Kind Regards,

Kevin

Comments

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□