Options

Signing up for OSCP in the next month or two - have some questions

tommylisttommylist Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey,I am signing up for the OSCP very soon but have a few questions for anyone who's already got their OSCP cert:In the course and the labs, how much focus is there on client side attacks? Would someone who has never worked in the industry be fine with the materials and course assuming they are self taught and already know quite a lot about networking/security?Jobs wise - I am not silly enough to assume I'll get a job right away with just this cert, but what would be your advice on getting a job as a pen tester for someone in my situation? I am sure someone has gone from having very little experience to a pen tester without too many years of trying - though I'm willing to put years into it, but if there's a way of shortening this then great.Thanks for any help given!

Comments

• Options
    MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Disclaimer: I have not finished the OSCP yet, but I am working through it.

Client-side: You will encounter these. Offensive Security has scripts setup to mimic user behavior on machines and they do the typically user things (related to the client) about once every 1-3 minutes. In my experience this do break from time to time, so you may have to burn a reset if the machine is behaving oddly.

As long as you have the tenacity and patience, you will do fine in the course. The course will give you building blocks but you will still have to do significant research outside of what they teach you. You won't be able to go through the videos and pdf then proceed to pwn all the things but you will be able to start working in the labs. Having gone through a few training courses, I can say overall their materials are pretty good. You will want to go through both the pdf and the videos though. You will find one covers things the other doesn't.