Certification in Technical Side of Cyber-Security - Advice Needed

calleviejacallevieja Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good Evening,

So recently I was advised by a friend to pursue the CISSP. However, after reading up on it, I see it's more of a certification for a manager or head of department, like being the boss of a team etc.

I have been working as a Network Admin and Systems Admin for 16+ years and now want to get more in to cyber-security.

I want to get my hands dirty and not just sit at a desk telling my team to do this that and the other.

I have no certifications in anything, but would like to get certified in something that is cyber-security related.

The cyber-security area is very new to me, I do not know what certifications are more recognized by companies these days.

I was considering the CompTIA Security+ as this looks a long the lines of getting technical, but I am not sure, what other options are available?

Is someone able to give me an idea as to what certifications I should pursue? As said previously I want to get my hands dirty in the technical side of cyber-security.

Kind Regards,
Kevin

Comments

• TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    callevieja wrote: »
    So recently I was advised by a friend to pursue the CISSP. However, after reading up on it, I see it's more of a certification for a manager or head of department, like being the boss of a team etc.

Basically your correct, it's more of a management type of certification, but it has no peers when it comes to industry recognition, just having your CISSP will get you attention from employers who wouldn't look twice at you otherwise. And, no you don't need to be in management to have your CISSP, it's a very valuable certification. Some of the other security certifications are getting gaining industry attention too, GIAC, OSCP, but before I got into security, I knew what a CISSP was, I never heard of the others.