Options

Confused about the requirements of CISSP

npsoninpsoni Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I have a couple of really noob questions about CISSP and I'd appreciate you helping me out here.

1. I have been working as a Linux system administrator for over 8 years that transitioned into DevOps role since about 3 years. Am I eligible for CISSP without anyone endorsing(?) me?
2. I see a lot of materials around and I've gone through a few reddit threads where people basically outlined how are they gonna study for the test.
3. Does it mean we're supposed to study ourselves and use the available apps (I read about a couple) for mock tests and then just appear for CISSP?

Basically, do they provide any book / video that you're supposed to learn from and then appear for the test or you just do it on your own and take the test?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Info_Sec_WannabeInfo_Sec_Wannabe Member Posts: 428 ■■■■□□□□□□
    npsoni wrote: »
    1. I have been working as a Linux system administrator for over 8 years that transitioned into DevOps role since about 3 years. Am I eligible for CISSP without anyone endorsing(?) me?

Chances are you already meet the 5-year cumulative experience requirement given the roles and responsibilities of a system administrator. However, the endorsement process requires that a CISSP in good standing should endorse you or if you don't know one, you can have ISC2 endorse you instead.

For more info, I would refer you to the ISC2 site - https://www.isc2.org/Certifications/CISSP
    2. I see a lot of materials around and I've gone through a few reddit threads where people basically outlined how are they gonna study for the test.