Questions regarding LPIC-2

linuxc128linuxc128 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I recently passed the LPIC-1 (CompTIA Linux+ Powered by LPI). Although I took classes for preparing the exam, in fact I studied all the required knowledge by myself - I should add that I'm 31-years-old now and working with/learning about Linux since I was 14, so probably I'm already in the posession of a considerable amount of knowledge about Linux (administration).

Now I plan to take the LPIC-2 exam without taking any preparation classes (I've always been good at studying things autodidactically) soon. My (first) basic questions in this regard are:

1) I have the impression that the main focus of LPI exams is on Debian (including init- and SysV-based versions), at least in case of the LPIC-1 exam (despite their claim to consider various distributions equally). Would others agree to this? And may this be (significantly) different for the LPIC-2 exam?
I think that this question is quite important, since one would need a lot of more time if trying to memorize all kind of e. g. RedHat/CentOS special characteristics.

2) Many of the exam's objectives/questions - including the information one can find in many LPIC preparation books - refer to out-dated information (e. g. GRUB/GRUB2 configuration to mention just one of many examples - some things related to X11 would be an even better example). But I guess nonetheless one should study this information, even if it's not relevant anymore or wouldn't work on a modern Linux system, right?

Kind regards and thanks in advance

Comments

• lovejoilovejoi Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for your post

I also now starting for LPIC-2 . What material you use for preparing. books or video you watching
  • linuxc128linuxc128 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□