Malware on POS

mnashemnashe Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
I was reading an article about a retailer having a data breach due to malware running on their POS machine. I have what is probably a dumb question but I'll ask anyway. How does malware get installed on a POS machine? I have limited experience in the retail space, but I have done a few consulting gigs. From what I've seen, the POS systems were running an embedded version of Windows XP, which I know is no longer supported and could easily be a vulnerability. My confusion is how malware would get installed to begin with. I wouldnt think these POS machines would need internet access.

Comments

• SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Embedded does not mean non-vulnerable :) usually they are the last thing that are updated in a network.

Also while they perhaprs dont have internet access, they are usually connected to an internal network, they can became infected after a first breach.

Finally, I have also seen a guest wifi that is plugged in the same network as the POS..
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Lets see, a couple options.
    • They are frequently on a network. Maybe another PC on that or an adjacent network has internet access.
    • Maybe a port (USB) is open on the device and an attacker can sneak a USB in during a transaction.
    • Maybe an employee or someone with access is paid to insert a disk or USB.
    • Pose as an IT or service person and insert a disk/USB
    I'm sure folks will chime in with other ways.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • mnashemnashe Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Embedded does not mean non-vulnerable :) usually they are the last thing that are updated in a network.

Also while they perhaprs dont have internet access, they are usually connected to an internal network, they can became infected after a first breach.