Exam 98-364: MTA: Database Fundamentals-- Best Study Guide??

oxymoron5koxymoron5k Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I am thinking about transitioning from a Systems Administrator (General IT Guy) to a SQL Career. I deal with SQL a lot with this current job so I have the environment and the potential work experience when I get to that point. Right now I just use the tech support.

1) What is the best study material for the MTA exam? I realllllly dont want to spend 1K for CBT Nuggets

2) What are your thoughts on the career change? I am hoping it will pay more.

Comments

• ViolatedViolated Member Posts: 32 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm not sure what the best study material is, but Microsoft Virtual Academy has a course on Database Fundamentals. You can also get 3 months of PluralSight through the Visual Studio Dev Essentials. Either one should be good. After that, I would pursue the MCSA in SQL Server.

I was a DBA for a while, and I really miss it. You can definitely expect more money in the long run compared to Systems Administration.
  • oxymoron5koxymoron5k Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Is a DBA the most common job for SQL guys? Also is the cert you think I should be going for if I want to dive into SQL?

Thanks!

Also what did you miss about it?
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • oxymoron5koxymoron5k Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Cool thanks!

Are you sure though? The reviews for that book are AWFUL.
  • Valerie38125Valerie38125 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hello
    I am a newbie trying to get into the IT field and I was told getting a MTA certification will help me get a jump start in the database world. Do anyone have some good practice exams, as well as study guides, suggestions and/or notes that will help me with this process. Thank you
  • Valerie38125Valerie38125 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□