Options

Prep for leaving the army (need advice)

MMckernanMMckernan Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a 25N in the army right now. I joined to give myself career options as a civilian. I'm a JNN operator and I'm steadily building experience. I'm dropping a packet for a top secret clearance. I have 2 1/2 years left until my ETS date. I'm making this post because I don't have the direction or knowledge to set myself up with a career. I'm currently trying to get certifications, but getting seats for the classes is an ordeal in itself. I'm looking for some guidance on how to prep myself for civilian life in IT and how to ensure that I have better job opportunities. I'll take any knowledge I get get. Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    As far as certifications go, do you deal with systems and networks? If so, getting an MCSE and CCNA (or CCNP if you can) would be ideal and honestly in 2 1/2 years it should be doable to get both. More than likely you are going to be required to get Security+ but do you know if they will MAKE you get anything specific such as Juniper or CEH? Sometimes the requirements can be specific and that might lead to different options, but otherwise the MCSE / CCNP / Security+ group is what I would recommend. Essentially you are looking to make the biggest splash relative to your experience when you get out and although there are a lot of paths, the path I described is the best related to your role. Additionally, you should be able to get hands on experience related to the various areas. If you find yourself dealing a lot more with networking than systems, then perhaps maybe only do an MCSA and go full bore on Cisco or whatever the case might be....your description is a little light to give very direct information.