Security career advice

tripleatriplea Member Posts: 190 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi,

I've been looking to jump over to InfoSec. However although working with the InfoSec guys and being a system admin I am finding it hard to make the transition. There are roles but there not that many without direct experience. ( Im SSCP and Sec+ and help the InfoSec team out a lot but Im still a system admin at the end of the day )

Now the original plan was to do something like a security engineer transition but Im hopefully being offered a Security Officer role ( doing 2nd interview tomorrow as a face to face ). I like many parts of that role but its mainly not technical. Do that role for 18 months and hopefully grab either a cissp or some more tech certs. Hopefully means as an IT Security officer I may bypass the majority of HR filters. Feel I could get some good cross training there as will cover things like DLP etc.

Do you think this is a valid career path or hold on? ( I may well enjoy that role and not want to leave anyway )

Thoughts please?

Comments

• LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    LOL, okay first off, the only sure way to bypass the HR filters and especially the ATSs is to find out who the hiring manager is for the position and get in touch with him or her. Even for C-level positions (CIO/CSO/CISO/CTO/CPO), if you apply through the normal process of submitting through ATS, if your background doesn't have the right keywords in the right numbers it won't even get to HR let alone a hiring manager. (naturally people applying for C-level jobs probably already know or can find out who the 'hiring manager' is, usually the CEO or COO, and contact them directly). Virtually everyone knows ATS is broken but its used still because almost every opening these days gets like hundreds or even thousands of applicants and there has to be some way to filter them.