Options

CISSP Book advice for veteran IT Sec Engineer

elgringoelgringo Registered Users Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
Greetings everyone,

I would like to ask your help to make the correct decision on which book(s) to buy in order to take the CISSP exam (covering also the 2018 update).

To give you some context, I am a veteran IT Sec Engineer and my employeer asked to obtain the CISSP certification for a career opportunity.

What is your advice? I need something which won't start from the basics but jumps directly to the core of the topics, with a good writing style (I hate repetitions and flights of fancy). And ofcourse a resource with a super huge amount of tests to take.

Thanks a lot,
elgringo

Comments

• Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    My advice would be to go with Eric Conrad's book. He wrote 2... CISSP Study guide and 11th hour guide. Start with the CISSP study guide, it is one of the shorter complete guide. It is straight to the point and you will see what you need to cover in more depth. Peraps you will find that even as a veteran IS sec engineer you can have a complete domain unknown to you.

Then you can do an assessment test, it is one thing to know, but sometime it is different to answer question.
  • Options
    kabbrakabbra Member Posts: 17 ■■■□□□□□□□
    This is a hard question to ask. I would recommend the ISC2 CBK book. This is the one I used to study and pass the exam. Yes it is brutal to read, but it is the closest thing when it comes to the exam questions, especially the questions at the end of each chapter.
  • Options
    FSF150FSF150 Member Posts: 119 ■■■□□□□□□□