Is It OSCP Time?

globalenjoiglobalenjoi Member Posts: 104 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I'm hoping to get some feedback for some OSCP decision making. I'm thinking about purchasing the PWK course with 60 days of lab time. I'm taking the GWAPT next week and once I'm done, my training schedule should be free for the next few months. At the GWAPT training, I was encouraged to go ahead and start the course...

I'm curious though... am I ready? Over the last year, I've completed the GPEN and GCIH. I've been working my way (slowly) through the eLearnSecurity PTP course material, and just started the System section with all the buffer overflow stuff. I feel pretty comfortable with the pentest stuff, but I know I still have a lot to learn. I've been doing web app pentesting as a job for about 6 months now. Am I at a point where I could realistically pay for the course and 60 days of lab access, and be ready for the exam at the end of the lab time?

Appreciate any input or feedback!

Comments

• ottucsakottucsak Member Posts: 146 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you have PTP why don't you finish that first? The curriculum is more or less the same and you get some preparation for the PWK.
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    With where you're at now, I'd say you're definitely ready for the PWK course. But I'd also say you should just finish working through the PTP course as it will only help and you'll be able to make better use of your PWK course time.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • globalenjoiglobalenjoi Member Posts: 104 ■■■□□□□□□□
    ottucsak wrote: »
    If you have PTP why don't you finish that first? The curriculum is more or less the same and you get some preparation for the PWK.