Do you allow social media sites

mnashemnashe Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
I was wondering how everyone handles social media sites (facebook, twitter, youtube, etc) at their companies.

We only allow it by request and it needs to be approved by management. There's some debate on whether it should be opened for all

I'm not a security expert, but it seems risky

thoughts?

Comments

• LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Social media sites are a social engineer's goldmine. Too many people input everything about themselves on them. Not to mention, they are bandwidth intensive. In developed countries that may not be as big deal but here bandwidth costs $600 per Mbps, so companies have to have small pipelines. Social media apps can spread malware, notably Trojans, but Locky ransomware was spread by images in Facebook and LinkedIn. So, yes they have risks, they can waste time, and they can clog bandwidth.

We used to have a generous social media policy, Facebook for all its flaws is still a good tool to stay in touch with loved ones. But as our company grows here, and people abuse it, we've had to cut down. I've set caps for bandwidth for all social media sites to 5% of our pipeline excepting LinkedIn, allowing for case by case exceptions. Safety and training can use YouTube for training videos, for example.
  • tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    We allow it but only with management approval if there is a legitimate business need. Otherwise, staff can always check their social media accounts with their personal smart phones.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Most social media is allowed at my workplace, streaming audio/video is not, some other restrictions. But if you want to check FB on some downtime, go crazy. If the bandwidth is in check, then it's a management problem if someone abuses it.
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Most companies allow them these days...something about work life balance etc etc