Passed SSCP

donx4donx4 Member Posts: 13 ■■■□□□□□□□
Passed the SSCP exam today, just have to wait for the confirmed result and to send on my experience to (ISC)2 to be formally awarded it.

I started studying 8 weeks ago, realistically though it was only 6 weeks of study. I was away for a week and took about a week to get back into it after that. The test seemed fair, a few question that came from material id never seen before.

I used the sybex book, the gold CBK book and the plural site videos. the Sybex book id say covered about 90% of what came up on the exam, but there was material that in the CBK, which i didnt spend as much time with unfortunately, i found it had too much depth.

I watched the videos on a domain with pluralsite, read the same chapter on the sybex book, went back made notes of that chapter and then did the sybex test question. I did this the whole was through the domains and when i got to the end i moved to the CBK and did the domain chapter quiz and reviewed all the question i missed, read the section that i was hazy at.

I also used the SSCP iphone app, i really liked it, helpful flash cards and test question in there.

Also i found that 70-80 percent of the content is shared with the sec+ if anyone who has done id before your in good shape to pick up the SSCP, it dose dive a little more into technical detail in places but I found the information attainable

I'm torn now on weather to go for the CySA+ or jump to the CASP

Comments

• securitychopssecuritychops Member Posts: 52 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congratulations on the pass! :D
    Current Certs   : OSCE, OSCP, CISSP, Pentest+, Security+, SLAE, SLAE64
    Goals for 2019 : OSEE
    Goals for 2020 : OSWE
  • wayne_wonderwayne_wonder Member Posts: 215 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The CASP doesn’t really hold much weight here in the U.K. not sure what it’s like in Dublin? Unless work are paying I’d skip that and look into the cissp
  • ThePawofRizzoThePawofRizzo Member Posts: 389 ■■■■□□□□□□