Looking for some direction cert wise VCP/AWS/RH etc

langenoirlangenoir Member Posts: 82 ■■■□□□□□□□
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]It's been a long while since I've posted here. I'm looking for some suggestions on a direction to go cert wise to keep me relevant. I have about 5 years experience working for Windows based tech service provider for small/medium sized business. Then 6 years working for a startup that was bought by a very large IT company. One that might be laying me off in 1-2 years. In my current position, I went from doing all the sysadmin engineering in the start up (VMware, SLES Linux, SAN/NAS/NFS, Veeam DR, some Windows) to being a cog in mostly doing VMware admin/engineering on the new team. It was good because I got to work with vSAN, NSX, etc, but bad because Amazon has basically taken over the virtualization space. I don't want to go the way of Novell. Also, I work exclusively from home. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]So my breakdown for the last 4/5 years has been since we were bought[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]VMWare - 40%[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Veeam - 20%[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]SAN (trad and virtual) - 20% [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]RH/CentOS - 15%[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Win 2008/12/SQL - 5%[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]I let my Cisco certs expire. I don't do hardly any Cisco. The only thing I have that expires is my VCP and I have been renewing them because I don't want to pay the class fee. I'm sitting the VCP DCV 6.5 in Sept.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]