Aws, Azure and GCP. Which track to take?

rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have about 8 to 10 months to prepare for 4 certifications. I have about 10 years IT experience in office 365, soc/noc(sharepoint on premise before) and a masters in network security. I am looking to move into cloud security for better marketability and honestly better compensation. The first cert I am doing is security + to brush up on concepts and many folks have told me to go for CISSP and that leaves me with a big question. Which vendor specific cloud cert or product do I focus on? Aws, gcp or Azure. I have zero hands on experience on these 3 so starting with a clean slate.

Comments

• LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    AWS is by a large margin the market leader in cloud services, that would be a good one to start. Indeed, AWS may eventually own the market. If time permits, you could later pursue entry level certs for Azure and GCP. But if you do get a job working with the cloud, it's a good chance it will be AWS.

However, the CISSP covers information security from management perspective and only touches on the cloud, I can't remember seeing any cloud related questions on the CISSP. Perhaps you are thinking of the Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP).
  • TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    rs23 wrote: »
    1. I have about 8 to 10 months to prepare for 4 certifications.

2. The first cert I am doing is security + to brush up on concepts and many folks have told me to go for CISSP and that leaves me with a big question.

3. Which vendor specific cloud cert or product do I focus on? Aws, gcp or Azure. I have zero hands on experience on these 3 so starting with a clean slate.
    1. Why? What is creating that deadline? What is determining that you "need" 4?

2. If you already have 10 years experience, you probably could go directly for CISSP...or at minimum go for CASP.