WGU- Do Employers Respect IT Degrees From Here?

digitalcreepshowdigitalcreepshow Member Posts: 14 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I posted a recent post asking a semi- related question (but more geared toward my specific life situation). I am about to narrow down a few school choices for advancing my IT career. One of the choices (reccomended by tons of people here it seems) is WGU. The only thing that worries me about this program is it's reputation. I have no real knowledge of how employers view someone from WGU when applying for jobs. If it helps, I am looking at specifically the Cybersecurity program. I currently work as an IT Analyst, so I am not a noob and will have a few years of job experience under my belt once I finish the degree and certs. Has anyone had issues with employers? Do you know of any horror stories of employers laughing at your "degree"? Any feedback is greatly appreciated. WGU seems legit and it would work the best for me, but I also don't want to waste time on a degree no one respects.

Comments

• TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I have no real knowledge of how employers view someone from WGU when applying for jobs.

So long as it's an accredited college, I don't think they will care. Most employers are not looking for Ivy league college graduates for IT, it's management and business where this become much more important. I wouldn't advertise it's an online college, I doubt most employers would even ask and if they do, just tell them where the university is located, you don't have to get into a long explanation it was online classes.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yep, you already have experience, they'll probably go "BS degree, check" and move on.
  • stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□