Copier Tech to I.T. tech

techcastletechcastle Registered Users Posts: 5 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I am new here, and would appreciate some advice.
I am a copier tech for nearly 15 years. I have lots of experience installing printers/copiers onto
networks. I have recently passed the Comptia A+. I wish to continue getting certs but wold like some advice
on which to get. I guess my goal is to transfer into a full-time I.T. support roll, possibly networking.
I was thinking of doing the CCNA or Network + next?? Which would you guys recommend?

Also just wondering would my current skills and experience along with a ccna/network + certs be attractive to
prospective employers?

Many thanks for any input.
Regards,
C.

Comments

• kaijukaiju Member Posts: 453 ■■■■■■■□□□
    If you think your knowledge of networking is strong you should skip Net+ and go for CCNA.
    Work smarter NOT harder! Semper Gumby!
  • N7ValiantN7Valiant Member Posts: 363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Too much experience some might say. 15 years in the same-ish technical role shows little to no ambition to try new things.

Passing the CCNA might help get your foot in the door.
    OSCP
    MCSE: Core Infrastructure
    MCSA: Windows Server 2016
    CompTIA A+ | Network+ | Security+ CE
  • backtrackerbacktracker Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
    kaiju wrote: »
    If you think your knowledge of networking is strong you should skip Net+ and go for CCNA.

Agreed in that this would show that you are willing to put yourself a bit outside your comfort zone in order to expand your career.
    MSM-ISS (Information System Security)-'07 Colorado Tech.
    MCSE | MCSA X3 | Security + | Network +
  • ThePawofRizzoThePawofRizzo Member Posts: 389 ■■■■□□□□□□
    CCNA would probably be a better option to get your foot in the door towards a networking job. However, if you get CCENT or CCNA, and have some extra cash, I'd consider the N+ at the same time. N+ is well recognized as well, and having it and CCNA can't hurt.