WDS 2 network card setup

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I have a box with two network cards, the first will be connected to work network.

The 2nd one I want to connect it directly to a switch and then any clients that access this switch can in theory can run px e and run WDS.

Is this possible?

Go easy on me guys I'm a networking Windows server noob...
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Nik 99Nik 99 Member Posts: 154 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I did answer the other thread below that basically asked the same question =P But yeah you can. Important point I can think of. Do you need internet access on the clients network? If yes then A) connect your router to the clients switch (hopefully your using a good router with more then 1 IP interface). Or B) setup routing on that server 2016 box and it can pass the traffic over to your main router. Can't really recommend this one cuz it seemed kinda complex the only time I looked at it lol. Setting up the networking should be pretty painless. WDS on other hand....pluralsight vids for mcsa 411 didn't make it look easy or strightforward.
  • ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Don't need internet access on the clients but technically this could be done right by using NAT? I'm not a network genius... So that might be wrong.

I just want a way to have the 2nd nic isolated. Reasoning is

Main network one router handling DHCP for the whole building.

PXE server is already on the network, The network is on one subnet for the whole building. Thinking about it this is a area that could be improved. Vlans? I'm not a networking guru and we currently do not have a network admin lol. PXE server is currently running a serva32/64 setup hosting Windows ISO files and tools such as pc check.