CISA exam - my experience and how I studied

DazeByGoneDazeByGone Member Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
I bought the ISACA CISA review manual in Feb. when I registered for the May/June window, and my co-worker loaned me his ISACA Question/Answer printed book. I didn't opt for the QAE online database of questions since I had his hard copy already.

That book was a long, hard, slog. I'd only gotten 2/3rd of the way through the first chapter (of five total chapters) by April 1st. So I switched to the Q/A book questions, and was only getting about 50% correct. It was frustrating for me, the way the questions were worded...so many clauses with seemingly insignificant info., which actually pivoted the inherent meaning and so changed what I initially considered the answer to be.

An answer may seem to be right, but I wouldn't pick it because I didn't recognize the specific term and worried it was "made up". Hint: I think I remember the ISC(2) CISSP used that tactic, but the ISACA CISA didn't.

By June 1st, seeing the gulf between the amount of material I had to get through in the study manual, and my pattern of scoring 65% on the Q/A's, I was starting to worry. Most folks on this forum were advising to just hammer on the Q/A online database.

But I'm a stubborn cuss, so Frank Sinatra and I did it our way. I began to study every day (1-2 hours), giving priority to the review manual rather than the questions/answers. I ensconced myself away from my family after dinner each night and got in at least 8-hours per weekend - still just trying to just get through the study manual. I skimmed when I knew a topic, and used up at 3 highlighter pens. But by golly, I made it to the end of the review book!