Maximimizing international employability for pentester through certs

0b3lix0b3lix Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good morning everyone,

due to my girlfriend's job in academia, we will be living in 4 different countries in the next 5 to 6 years: two Western European ones, the US, and one Middle Eastern one.

From people moving internationally I know how tough it can be to find a job in IT, even if highly qualified, if you don't speak the local language (which I don't). To reduce the financial strains heading our way I want to increase my attractiveness to potential employers in these countries, hoping to maximize the chances of finding a sufficiently paying job quickly enough.

I work as a penetration tester (5 years experience) and want to keep it that way if possible. At the moment I'm certified as CISSP, OSCP and OSCE. I also hold a Master's in CS.

Any ideas which certificates might increase my attractiveness as a penetration tester to future employers the most? I was thinking CISA but maybe someone has a better idea?

In general, it needs to be affordable out of my own pocket, so SANS and OffSec's AWE/AWAE are out.

Comments

• 0b3lix0b3lix Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    (tl;dr: Searching for the next step for a pentester after CISSP, OSCE and OSCP that I can afford out of my own pocket)
  • ottucsakottucsak Member Posts: 146 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If one of those Western European countries is the UK, then I would get CREST as having that cert is a requirement for doing penetration tests for the government/financial sector. Other than that you should be good with whatever you have and I would invest in learning languages instead.

For team lead roles you could take PMP, but almost all places will have it as optional.
  • soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    ^^ This

PMP would be a good one to tack onto your technical experience and demonstrate your project/time management skills to employers.

Crest for UK.