Options

The Irony of it all

wwpranmawwpranma Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 116
Heh, so it's new years day and my brother got a nice 215 gb external hard drive for christmas for all his music. And well, as luck would have it, I jumped in so I could move all his files over to it, free up some space. Anyways, I was nearly completed using various windows built in tools to clean up the drives and I scan disk running, so I left the room to check on some other non computer related items and sure enough take a wild guess what my brother did. '

That's right, he turned off the computer in the middle of scan disk. It's not his fault though, me and him are smart in our own ways. He's a nurse (lpn) and I'm studying to fix comptuers. Anyways, take a wild guess what happens next. I'll give you a hint, I can't even boot into safe mode with a command prompt. That's right, the blue screen of death.

Now ordinarily I would easily have my copy of xp available, but yes, lucky me, I left it at mom and dad's house. So the finished process will come tomorow after I get the disk back. But I love the fact that all this studying actually payed off. Now I can fix a computer.

Just out of curiosity, has anyone had this exact situation or am I alone on this? I figure he shut down the computer in the middle of a scan disk and somehow it corrupted the registry or something, so I'm going to boot with the cd, open a recovery console, type in fdisk/mbr, and pray to god that's the correct awnser. If anyone has any suggestions though, I'm all all eyes.
Artificial Intelligence is nothing compared to the power of Human Stupidity.

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    I've never seen a BOD as a result of incomplete scan disk...
    fixmbr only fixes problems with the partition table, in the case of problems with scan disk, it wont do anything.

attempt to restart the computer safe mode.
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • Options