Options

The value of a CCNP-Security cert in the job search

Cat5Cat5 Member Posts: 297 ■■■□□□□□□□
I was laid off from my last networking job, and I'm looking for something else now. I have my CCNA and a Security+, which have taken me far but I think I need more. I've been working for a big carrier for the last several years, and during my job hunt I've noticed that about 1/3 of the advertised networking jobs want firewall experience or the job ad has "security" in the job title. Carriers don't configure firewalls - those are for private companies. I worked for less than a year for one, so I at least have some basic understanding of them (with Checkpoint). Nor did my carrier do much with security. Again, that's for private businesses.

The logical thing is to go after something that employers want/need. With the demand for firewalls and security that I see, I thought that getting a CCNP-Security cert might be better than CCNP-R&S, even though it's an additional test. I'm getting older, so I don't have a lot of time to chase higher-level certs (not to mention the money required for them and that I don't have a job right now). But I've also read on these forums that businesses are moving away from Cisco and that a CCNP/S isn't particularly asked for? Unfortunately, I can't get security or firewall experience without a job, so I have to work on the cert-side. I've never seen a job ad asking for, say, a Palo Alto firewall certification, or for that matter a CCNP/S cert. I just see lots of requests for a CCNP/R&S cert and firewall experience. I figured that a CCNP/S would kill two birds with one stone - it would put me at an NP level and would also give me security credibility with the HR people or the hiring manager.