to start off your IT career Comptia A+ or CCNA?

blackrain10blackrain10 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
i am having trouble deciding whether to get the A+ certification first or CCNA first .I know it would be a good thing to get both but i am new to the IT and would like an entry level job to start off. Any advice i would really appreciate it icon_exclaim.gif

Comments

• tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    If you're new to IT then get A+. Most places that require a CCNA will also want you to have some experience.
  • Tyrant1919Tyrant1919 Member Posts: 519 ■■■□□□□□□□
    A+ 4 life. Ditto above.
    A+/N+/S+/L+/Svr+
    MCSA:03/08/12/16 MCSE:03s/EA08/Core Infra
    CCNA
  • stlsmoorestlsmoore Member Posts: 515 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you start with CCNA it may turn you off to certifications and IT all together because it's a pretty tough exam. I would def. start with A+ then the two exam route with CCNA (CCENT, CCNA) if you truly like dealing with routers and networking in general.
    My Cisco Blog Adventure: http://shawnmoorecisco.blogspot.com/

Don't Forget to Add me on LinkedIn!
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/shawnrmoore
  • nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    I definitely also suggest A+ first then Network+, from there you can start to specialize more in what you want to do
    WIP: IPS exam
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    There is no single sentence answer to that question.

Tell me what your goals in IT are? A+ is the desktop side of things, CCNA is the network side. Follow the path that works for you best along your goals.

I am not a huge fan of Comptia, but I see it's perceived value by the employers.
    -Daniel
  • darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    Instead of CCNA, go for CCENT as your entry-level certification.