Thinking of relocating to find right job

justinyjustiny Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm planning for the not too distant future. I'm currently a Network Technician and plan to complete a bachelors degree from WGU in Network Ops and Security in 1.5 years.

My current pay isn't that great, however its great experience. Theirs no higher level jobs or no raise possible at my current employer, and I live in the midwest in a desolate area. Its a horrible market for Tech jobs.

Any recommendations where job market is great and the cost of living isn't too bad?

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Texas, Georgia, North Carolina comes to mind... but then again, do your research and figure out where you want to live. Cost of living is not the only criteria.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    COL is all relative...a $2,500 apartment sounds expensive if you make $50,000 but if you make $150,000 it doesn’t sound nearly as bad.

Florida, Georgia, Arizona, Nevada, Texas are probably the top contenders overall...but states like Colorado and North Carolina are tech heavy and shouldn’t be forgotten.

I would highly recommend you visit any area you are thinking about and get a job prior to moving if at all possible.
  • joshuamurphy75joshuamurphy75 Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Lots of jobs in West Texas now. They are going through another oil boom, so you can walk through a store and get offered two jobs by complete strangers. Most jobs are trucker, welder, or roughneck type work, but there's still some IT scattered around. I'd suggest applying for some remotely before driving out here though as cost of rent tends to skyrocket during the booms.
  • MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□