Passed HCISPP exam yesterday, my first ISC2 experience – strongly recommend the cert…

cledford3cledford3 Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
I’ve been a member of the forum for a couple years now and have been on again, off again studying for the CISSP during that time. I’ve been working in IT security for almost 20 years now, across several sectors (commercial, Federal, Service Provider, and Healthcare), multiple security domains, and have 18 other (mostly technical) certifications under my belt. My present title is Senior IS Security Analyst. As to why I haven’t taken the CISSP yet? I tend to over prepare for things, and I also feel that (generally speaking), after a certain point in one’s career, motivation for certification is usually inverse to one’s job satisfaction – and I’ve been blessed over the last 7 years to be very happy with my employer and job. Having said that, (aside from my Employer asking that I take it) pursing the HCISPP was intended to be a jump-start to my stalled CISSP studies and I now hope to take that exam by the end of summer.

This is sort of a roll up of info related to HCISPP study materials as there isn’t much out there.

To cut to the chase on the cert– I highly recommend the credential for any security practitioner in the Healthcare vertical. I also believe the bridge the cert builds between the parallel yet distinct disciplines of privacy and security is valuable enough for *any* security practitioner to consider taking the exam. Frankly, despite the “HC” in the title, most of the study content was general privacy related, along with a lot of CISSP security (basic security concepts, BCP/DR) and risk analysis. There is no denying that HC in in the US has a greater emphasis on privacy and 3rd party business associates than any other business vertical, but both matters are present in pretty much all others as well, making this cert useful beyond what it might seem.