Am i underselling myself with Security+ certification? Please read

rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have 10 years Federal consulting experience and have a MS in Computer and Network security from 2008. I let my CCNA and CEH expire a few years ago as i shifted to middle management. I serve as a technology lead for our corporate teams advising on solution mainly in Office 365/Cloud migrations and have worked previous in NOC/SOC and ISO 27001 audits.

I started my Security+ certification prep but a lot of my friends/peers feel i am aiming too low and should do CISSP and CCSP or CCSK since my end goal is to do cloud security. At 40 with 3 kids/wife i dont have too much time to waste and need to get a couple of certs under my belt for better opportunities. What do you guys think?

Thank you

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    most DOD positions require a security +...
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Even if i end up getting a CISSP? The question is where i should invest my time and money given my experience
    rs23 wrote: »
    I have 10 years Federal consulting experience and have a MS in Computer and Network security from 2008. I let my CCNA and CEH expire a few years ago as i shifted to middle management. I serve as a technology lead for our corporate teams advising on solution mainly in Office 365/Cloud migrations and have worked previous in NOC/SOC and ISO 27001 audits.

I started my Security+ certification prep but a lot of my friends/peers feel i am aiming too low and should do CISSP and CCSP or CCSK since my end goal is to do cloud security. At 40 with 3 kids/wife i dont have too much time to waste and need to get a couple of certs under my belt for better opportunities. What do you guys think?

Thank you
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    rs23 wrote: »