BS in computer networking degree thats regionally accredited

Ungadunga911Ungadunga911 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
I know i have asked this in the past, but have forgotten the response. I asked my linux instructor the other day this question and he flat out said he had no idea. The question was, why the university of southern MS/ the school im currently in has a BS degree in computer networking, but when i look back home in California, none of the schools have one, there all computer science. I know that all my instructors that teach either in cisco, server ex... have all completed there degrees in computer science and were self taught in these other areas of IT. I know that there are allot of options to get a networking degree online, almost every online school offers some type of IT degree. In the south of Mississippi they have the two year computer networking degree which is what i ended up getting and transferred to the university. But looking back home at the two year schools in California, they only offer two year degrees in computer science, as far as IT networking goes, they offer a certificate thats CompTia based, but no two year degrees. I would think that sense networking is such a large field of the IT world that every school would offer a degree in. My current thought process is that networking degrees are kinda new, so only certain schools have begun to teach them, and that when i graduate, that i would be facing experienced self taught computer science grads. Also, do you think employers place any stock in younger people with a BS degree in computer networking. At the current moment im still unsure about what direction to focus on. Whenever i get a chance to re study classes i have already taken, im hoping to pass my CCNA, then become more familiar with windows server. At the current time im trying to hang on with C++ and Adv Linux server. Funny note: my last intro to linux class was 2 years ago and never touched it until the Adv class began, the inst