GREM Certification exam preparation

michaelhoangmichaelhoang Member Posts: 8 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I am looking to take GREM exam by the end of this year. My background is reverse engineering and malware forensic with more than 3 years experience in real life and dealing with real incidents everyday.

However, this is my first SANS so I am quite concerned about some points. It really appreciate if someone could help me to go through:
- Does GREM exam required a lots reading books and remembering definitions? Is it a practical exam or theory exam?
- With 3 years in reverse engineering and malware forensic, what should I do to prepare for the exam?

Really appreciate for your help. Looking forward to your response eagerly.

Regards,
Michael

Comments

• TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    To clarify are you taking the SANS 610 Course then the GREM exam, or you attempting to challenge the GREM exam with your knowledge without taking the course? The Exam is a mixture of both, your be shown output from say a PDF from a tool and asked questions about it, sometimes it just one question, other times it's several, as well as knowledge type questions. You will not be doing anything interactive like trying to analyze a malware sample during the exam, but you may be asked what tool would you use to analyze a certain type of file. Be very familiar with assembler for static code analysis, be able to follow the logic of assembler code, including the types of conditional jumps. Be familiar to malware detection avoidance techniques and how to identify them. be familiar with Idapro and Foxpro malware analyzer.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • michaelhoangmichaelhoang Member Posts: 8 ■■□□□□□□□□
    thanks @TechGromit for your advice.
    I attempt to take the GREM without taking the course.