Options

Total Beginner!!! HELP!

chrissyd11chrissyd11 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
My employer is very supportive in expanding my skills within my job and has insisted that i attend university to study for my CCENT and then eventually move onto my CCNA through time.

I have no previous knowledge of what is involved in these courses although i do have confidence that i can learn.

would anyone be able to enlighten me to weather or not the CCENT course is suitable to go and learn the basics and develop an understanding or should i be looking into something even more basic before this level?

Comments

• Options
    albinorhino187albinorhino187 Member Posts: 117 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's hard to say without knowing the school, course, syllabus, source materials, etc. But there should be enough info in Cisco's official cert guide to get you going. There are also numerous video courses on places like Udemy, or CBTNuggets/INE if you can afford those or job pay's for them.

CCNA is absolutely something that can be self-taught with decent study materials.
    CCIE RS - Written (Goal: July 2019) [ ] Lab [ ]
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    When I did my associates degree I took the Cisco NetAcad classes. They ran Saturday mornings for a full year. If your new to this stuff I think it is probably a good pace to learn. Don't try to rush it unless you need to.

Jon
  • Options
    psheehan5psheehan5 Member Posts: 80 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you just want to know how well you're going to do in this new venture, I would create an account at Cybrary.it and take the CCNA course they have. It's approximately 15 hours and it's free! From there you can branch out and see what other resources you might need.
  • Options
    TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□