Options

Average time in a job/with a company

CyberJosh95CyberJosh95 Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey Guys and Gals,

What have you guys noticed the average time most people spend in a job/with a company? I know many things can play a factor in this but, I'm still curious.

Comments

• Options
    devilbonesdevilbones Member Posts: 318 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My average is 5.6. I have been working for 17 years with 3 jobs.
  • Options
    barberj66barberj66 Member Posts: 86 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Mine has tended to be 3-4 years, some 3 others 4 but never any longer so far. Coming up for around 3 1/2 at my current one so could be on the look around soon!
    Goals for 2019: ICND2 first of all then see how it goes.
    CCENT Passed 28/11/18!
    https://jballaboutit.blogspot.co.uk/
  • Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'm about 2.5, the last 3 more around 3.... It's going up but not by a lot. I've been in this position for ~2 years.

I would guess around 3 would be the average. (Just a guess)

I did recently see some numbers showing the median time for the top 20 tech companies. If memory serves me correctly, I think the median for most of these companies was ~1 year. Facebook had the longest, at 1.1 years. Google was under a year, since 2014. (These were tech roles)
  • Options
    soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    @Databasehead that's interesting given the top companies bonus/stock structure that employees probably make it til they hit their 1 year to get paid and then maybe they jump to another top tech company? Just speculation
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
  • Options
    gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    2.714286 for me. But I feel like I'm stuck at my current position for a while as it is rather good. Already past that average mark...
  • Options
    AtlasSolutionsPlusAtlasSolutionsPlus Member Posts: 9 ■■□□□□□□□□