Taking my GSEC exam in Dec; any advice?

afobafob Member Posts: 11 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am a newbie in InfoSec. I was accepted into the SANS Cyber Security Academy. 6 months to review 3 courses & complete 3 tests. You cannot move to the next course if you don't pass the test. This opportunity is a great one and I do not want to fall short.

Any advice on how the test is?

Any one have any spare GSEC practice tests? I still have my 2 but I want an abundance of practice before I step in the classroom.

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    How's your index? This is absolutely key.
  • afobafob Member Posts: 11 ■■□□□□□□□□
    My index is very detailed. I have 3 more books to read. I am just anticipating how the test will be. I guess the practice test will give me a better visual of how the actual test may be.
  • Cuse0311Cuse0311 Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
    As cyberguypr said, your index will be the key. In regards to the practice exams, having more than two is not really beneficial IMO. This is because they tend to overlap a bit. My suggestion would be to go through all the course material at least twice (including labs). After you create your index, go through and take a practice exam. This will give you an idea of how the GIAC exam engine is structured. I would try to shoot for 80% or above. After taking the first practice exam, I would fine tune your index and take the final practice exam. Just my .2 cents for what it's worth.
    Thanks for the advice! I really appreciate it!
  • mactexmactex Member Posts: 80 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Agree with above. Let the practice tests be your guide to tweak your index along with your knowledge of the domains.
  • JGSJGS Member Posts: 23 ■■■□□□□□□□