Why is it so hard with 3 years of IT experience getting $15/hr helpdesk job?

Moon ChildMoon Child Member Posts: 188 ■■■□□□□□□□
I currently am a Laptop Technician been in this role 2 years now in hopes the experience could lead to an entry level $15/hr help desk job. I got a year experience with an internship years ago doing PHP website development and a little of help desk work. At my current job I started at $12/hr as a Laptop Technician been getting raises, eventually my job could lead to $15/hr but I doubt it.

I got a Bachelor's in Computer Information Systems, A+, N+, S+, MCTS - Windows 7, Apple Certified Associate Mac Integration Basics, Microsoft Office certifications, ITIL. Even with all this it doesn't seem good enough for many employers I talk to over the phone for just $15/hr entry level help desk jobs. Some of the jobs are temp, some have no benefits, some are just part time.

One employer told me even though I had a lot of experience with laptops, for this $15/hr help desk job they wanted a lot more than that. They wanted at least two years of experience doing troubleshooting and fixing laptops, phones, desktops, servers. Also the wanted 2+ years of networking, mobile device management, database management, windows server admin, etc.

Then they tell me for job A+ cert is mandatory, I tell him yes I just renewed my A+, N+, S+ for next 3 years. I also tell him I have a bachelors in a computer degree. Unfortunately for just a $15/hr entry level help desk job this isn't good enough.

And sadly it seems I get the same answer I get from many IT employers I have talked to over the phone for IT jobs.

The only possible IT job offers I got were far way from me that would require me to do an expensive move I can't afford and my wife says I am not moving her away from her family.

With that said I have talked to all kinds of people about jobs and they say well they can get me a $15/hr or 30k year job by talking to someone they know, but they aren't IT jobs.