Options

First Post from a Lurker

Denise0607Denise0607 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all. I'm Denise. I've actually been a member of TE for 2 years but never posted. However, I have learned A LOT! I remember when I first joined, I was seeking information about the CompTIA exams to join the IT industry. But this forum has provided soooo much more insight than I expected. I had learned so much about so many different careers I never knew existed and was stumped for a while about which direction I should go in.
I found myself frequenting the posts regarding infosec, particularly the offensive side of the aisle. Reading and researching about red teaming led me to r/netsec, r/netsecstudents, security blogs, podcasts, and so much more - which eventually led to interests in other areas of security. Talk about confused! I've never worked in IT or dev before and knew I needed to start somewhere, but couldn't stop myself from falling down the proverbial rabbit hole of security. Information overload. Seriously.
Coincidentally, the more I learned, the more I realized I wasn't ready. The subjects I found myself most interested in and most excited to learn about required more education than I possessed. Reverse engineering, quantum computing, cryptography, and more recently, a growing interest in blockchain development and security. A far cry from the content of CompTIA exams which is what originally brought me here. Lol.
So I decided a while back that I needed to start at the beginning and go back to school to finish a degree. Currently, I'm working my way towards a bachelor's degree in computer science. I wanted a solid foundation to build upon. Eventually, I'll find my niche and hopefully take off from there.
Anyway, I come back here to lurk often. Saw that you guys updated the site - looks great btw!
Sorry for the long post. Just wanted to say HI!! And thanks, TE. For setting me down this path.

Comments

• Options