Switching careers within IT advice

anfieldanfield Member Posts: 18 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited November 2018 in IT Jobs / Degrees
Looking for some advice as to what to do. I have been trying for a while to switch careers within IT. Basically I have been working with a GUI based ITSM software now for about 8 years (consultant), its a niche skill and basically near all of it is configured through the GUI. Recently my company switched from that to another newer ITSM software. Again this is a, niche skill set, where most of the software is configured via the GUI (save some small bits of javascript here and there). 

I am looking to make a move to anything more "technical" role basically where there is much more of a scripting component , programmer, developer or systems admin even , something like that(in any language basically - the more popular the better). At my current work the opportunities are very limited. Doesnt seem to be any options in that area. In the past ive studied and then stopped etc, went through cycles. Now I am studying python consistently with a goal of learning it and having programs to show for it. (Short term in the next year or so I will concentrate on javascript, python and some bash shell) Also this year I did write some basic automated tests for the ITSM software in python with selenium.

As far as certs in the last couple of years I did comptia linux + and puppet. I studied ansible a lot but failed that one though.
In relation to skills I would say I picked up some good troubleshooting skills and a good idea of the "big picture" in relation to different systems architecture and how to troubleshoot integrations etc..

I would say I have beginners javascript, linux shell and python at the moment. 

How do I go about getting the role I want? Hoping to get something really soon. With my current resume, I dont think companies would even consider me for the roles I want

(In my late 30's)

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod