Options

Career advice for 31 years old

mustafafekaikimustafafekaiki Registered Users Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello guys
I am here to share and hopefully get some useful advice . My IT career journey started two years ago . I had some basic computer skills and experience with 4 years computer engineering degree  and lots of motivation to learn , so I decided to study for CCNA , after I passed the exam I thankfully got a job as an IT support . I have been working for two years , but I want to become a network admin / Engineer  . Honestly in my job I don't have a lot to do with networking , phones  or even server . It is basic IT support that I feel I am wasting my time . 

I don't want to stuck in this role fixing computer issues here and there , I am the only guy in the office , but the whole IT team in different location. That's why I feel discouraged , scared sometimes and less motivated to work alone with no help. I need some advice in order to help me draw a different vision for my career that could help me somehow to move up and hopefully get a better job . 

I am thinking to go back to school and get a degree or master degree , sometimes I say let me just take the certification path to develop my skills and get some experience .

I am a little confused . 

Thank you in advance for any advice or comment 

Comments

• Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited November 2018
    You have a degree, some certs and basic experience. So you have to either move laterally in your company (please make sure that your boss know of y our intent) or brush up your resume and hit some door. Consider relocating if required, location is important.

Finally, you can get more basic certs like A+, Network+, Security+, it could help you get into the door. If you started a masters, I would not tell them, you will be categorized for over-educated for the kind of jobs you are searching. 
  • Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod